The Visitor Cobrowsing PowerUp is designed to give chat agents the ability to view their visitors’ screens, to quickly solve problems and get on the same page as their visitors.

The Visitor Cobrowsing PowerUp is available for purchase in the PowerUp store.

How to start a cobrowsing session

After purchasing the Visitor Cobrowsing PowerUp, during a chat you should see a “Launch Cobrowsing” button on the right hand side of the chat console. Clicking on this button will open a new tab.

In that new tab, a modal will pop up asking you if you’d like to request permission to start a cobrowsing session with your visitor.

Your visitor will then receive a request to start a cobrowsing session. If they agree, you will be able to view their screen. If they decline the invitation then you can choose to re-request if you would like.

Using cobrowsing to help a visitor

During cobrowsing, you see what the visitor sees. You may continue to chat as normal, so you can use chat to provide instructions to your visitor. By default, you’ll be able to see the visitor’s cursor.

Visitors can refresh their page and continue the cobrowsing session.

At the top of your cobrowsing page you’ll see 4 buttons that give you additional control in assisting a visitor during a cobrowsing session.

Cobrowsing Buttons

The Highlight button will allow you to click on a particular HTML element on the page (such as a paragraph, image or button) and highlight it in red to the visitor. After you click, you will automatically be out of highlight mode. To highlight another item, click the highlight button again.

The Point and Scroll button shows your cursor to the user, and allows you to scroll up and down the page for them.

The Full Control button allows you to scroll, click on buttons and links, fill out forms, and interact with other html elements on the page. Full Control requires additional permission from the visitor; after you click this button, the visitor will be asked to confirm that they want to allow you to control their screen.

How to end a cobrowsing session

To end a cobrowsing session you can close the tab window or click “end”. Your visitor will receive a notification that the session has ended. Visitors are also able to end the cobrowsing session at any time by clicking “end”.

Ensuring privacy during cobrowsing sessions

While it can be very helpful to view your visitor’s screen, certain parts of your website–such as an input field for credit cards or social security numbers– may not be appropriate for cobrowsing.

If you have access to your website’s HTML, you can hide any content that the visitor inputs into those fields during cobrowsing by adding the css class “olark-hide-sensitive-field” to the input element.