Sometimes you will want to signal to your visitor that the conversation has ended, to check it's OK to move on to the next conversation.

The end chat feature sends a pre-defined message to your visitor at the end of a conversation.

end message

You can use this field to remind your visitors that the conversation has ended but that they can still chat to you, or send a link to where they may find more support options.

Visitors can also choose to end a chat themselves by clicking the end chat button located on the chatbox.

Using Olark chat

Olark chat console

  • If you have limit chats per agent turned on and the value is set to anything other than unlimited, closing a chat tab will automatically send your Chat Ended Message as set on your Behavior & Text settings page. In addition, a chat slot will free up.

  • If you don't limit the number of chats per agent, closing a chat tab will not send a Chat Ended Message.

Using an IM chat app

Im chat app

  • If you have limit chats per agent turned on and the value is set to anything other than unlimited, typing !end and hitting return will automatically send your Chat Ended Message as set on your Behavior & Text settings page.

  • If you do not limit the number of chats per agent, entering !end will not send your Chat Ended Message.

Does a chat end automatically?

A chat session will eventually end automatically. When a visitor leaves your site, the chat session is not ended immediately, but can stay active for up to around 20 minutes in case they return to continue the conversaton.

In addition, a visitor's session may end when they have been idle on your site for a long time, so that the chat slot can be made free for another visitor.