Typing Olark commands in a chat window gives your operators quick access to the most useful tools for creating leads, transferring chats and helping customers.
To use an Olark Command, just type in the command you wish to use into your chat box, and our system will automatically detect it and do what you want it to do. Don't worry - the visitor you're talking to won't see anything.
Displays a list of common commands for the operator. Specifically, the next 5 commands on this list.
Add tags to your conversation. You can use tags to label conversations with keywords or to help find groups of conversations more easily in the future. Tags appear as labels on transcripts and can be configured to appear as labels in your CRM too.
Here at Olark, we're partial to using !tag followup to make sure that we don't drop the ball when a customer needs post-chat followup from us.
Transfers a conversation to another operator. If you want another operator to handle a conversation, type
Once a chat is accepted by another operator, you will be notified, and the chat icon will switch from green to red. Using Groups? Not to worry! Transferring a chat opens it up to all available operators.
Stop receiving page-change notifications for the visitor. Once you use this command, you can't turn page following back on for that chat.
Send a visitor to a different website URL, without them needing to click the link. Be careful with this one - you don't want to interrupt anything they might be doing! We recommend warning your visitor, before sending them to a different page.
Ignore all messages from a user. Sometimes people are jerks, and it's best to just ignore them. With Olark's !block command, you can do so really easily. Just type !block into your chatbox and you won't receive any more messages from that person for 24 hours.
Great for testing out your Olark settings. The visitor will see the results of this command. This allows for some built-in developer tools to show up on the visitor's side of the chat. Give it a try to see what happens!
Use this command to remember the name of your visitors. The next time they come to your site, you have their name ready to go. This means you can offer a much more personal experience for your visitors.
Works just like the !name command, but for the visitor's email. You'll see this information during a chat and it will be visible in the chat transcript as well. The !name, !email, and !phone commands may not transfer into your CRM if the visitor has an existing name/email assigned to them and you try to override their existing one.
Works just like the !name command, but for the visitor's phone number.
Returns a link for the chat transcript. Link is viewable by all operators on the account, from their account dashboard.
Pushes the transcript for your chat into your CRM (if you have one set up) and provides a direct link to the CRM case/ticket number. This command must be typed while the chat is still active for it to work properly. For Salesforce users, this command sends individual transcripts into Salesforce as a case.
For Salesforce users, this command sends individual transcripts into Salesforce as a lead and provides a direct link to the lead. This command must be typed while the chat is still active for it to work properly. For desk.com, Zendesk, and Highrise users, this command does the same thing as the !case command.
View a screen representation of what your visitor sees and circle items on it. To use this feature, you first need to enable the Hatchery. Type !see and you'll be able to view which part of your site a visitor is looking at. When you click on the screen, the visitor will see a circle where you clicked. This feature is currently in beta.